Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Something fishy about this script
01-08-2010, 04:02 AM (This post was last modified: 01-08-2010 04:03 AM by thewizz.)
Post: #1
Something fishy about this script
I purchased the script a couple of days ago. Installed and checked my CPU usage on my server.
It's already in the yellow which is bad news and refers to this script.
Looking closer at CPU report in my servers control panel I read:

Top Process %CPU 34.7 httpd [XXXXXX.net] [/mysimpleads/mysa_output.php?r120.86.87.62&hwww.babepedia]
Top Process %CPU 6.3 httpd [XXXXXX.net] [/mysimpleads/mysa_output.php?r203.142.33.10&hwww.XXXXXX]
Top Process %CPU 6.0 httpd [XXXXXX.net] [/mysimpleads/mysa_output.php?r120.86.87.62&hpbbb.playboyg]

(XXXX are my websites)

What is fishy is the reference to two unknown websites and IPs:
120.86.87.62 which has an address in CHINA
203.142.33.10 which has an address in MALAYSIA
120.86.87.62 which has an address in CHINA

So what is happening? Is this script in fact maliciuos spyware
Is this script skimming hits to other websites?
Have I installed a script that is in fact stealing all my information?
Check out the IPs for yourself. http://whois.domaintools.com/

Sorry to ask these questions but you can never be too careful these days.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-08-2010, 08:47 AM
Post: #2
RE: Something fishy about this script
All I can say is that I give you my promise nothing is 'fishy' about mySimpleAds. It most certainly does not do anything malicious.

In the output url, the 'r' refers to the visitor's IP address, while the 'h' refers to the hostname that the code is being used on (and while we're at it - 'rf' refers to referrer and 'ua' refers to user agent).

While I appreciate the need to be safe, please don't immediately assume we're peddling bad things here :-).

Thanks.
matt
http://www.clippersoft.net

ClipperSoft's mySimpleAds :: Power your website advertising with the ease and speed you've always looked for.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-08-2010, 10:14 AM
Post: #3
RE: Something fishy about this script
Thanks for the quick reply.
I have in fact been looking for a suitable ad management script for sometime and was over the moon when I found yours. So, I'm happy to read your reply.

Now I have to do something about my CPU.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-12-2010, 04:04 AM
Post: #4
RE: Something fishy about this script
Block the ip addresses on all your sites, they try to break in.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: